Skip to content

2023 National NAIDOC Week Award Finalists Announced!

The National NAIDOC Committee is proud to announce this year’s National NAIDOC Week Award Finalists! Selected from a pool of almost 200 nominees, these finalists exemplify the spirit of NAIDOC – celebrating Blak excellence. 

This year, the National NAIDOC Committee is especially honoured to announce Aunty Dr Naomi Mayers OAM as the 2023 National NAIDOC Lifetime Achievement Award recipient. 

Aunty Dr Naomi Mayers OAM is a Yorta Yorta and Wiradjuri woman, leader in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health, and was an original member of the ground-breaking music group, The Sapphires. Aunty Dr Naomi has dedicated her career to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health and health reform and established the Redfern Aboriginal Medical Services, a model which has since been adopted nationally in Aboriginal Health Services. Aunty Dr Naomi has been a tireless advocate of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities across the nation, working with them to build a healthier future.

Introducing our deadly finalists below, read more about their incredible work and achievements at the following link:

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Aunty Dr Naomi Mayers OAM

Person Award Category

Professor Kelvin Kong

Murrawah Johnson

Megan Krakouer

Female Elder Award Category

Dr Aunty Bilawara Lee

Aunty Dr Matilda House-Williams

Dr Miriam-Rose Ungunmerr Baumann AM

Male Elder Award Category

Pastor Dennis Phillip Jetta OAM

Tom Slockee

William Tilmouth

Youth Award Category

Brodie Murray

Courtney Burns

Mitchell Harrison-Currie

Innovation Award Category

Dr Rhett Loban

Daniel Motlop

Passing the Message Stick

Education Award Category

Aurora Education Foundation

Bubup Wilam Aboriginal Child and Family Centre

Professor Jacinta Elston

Creative Talent Award Category

Aaron Fa’Aoso

Dr Anita Heiss

Rachel Perkins

Sportsperson Award Category

Ash Gardner

Donnell Wallam

Indi Cooper

Caring for Country and Culture Award Category

Lala Gutchen

METRONET Noongar Reference Group

Talei Elu

National NAIDOC Week Award winners will be announced at the National NAIDOC Week Award Ceremony on Saturday 1 July 2023 in Meanjin. Tickets will be on sale in early June.

We invite everyone to join us in congratulating the 2023 National NAIDOC Week Award finalists!

Back To Top